字号:


DALITS, From Brokenness to Restoration

Laval Yau

  Dr. B.R. Ambedkar, a Dalit himself had described the Dalits as a Broken People. Not much has changed since this pronouncement fifty years ago. Dalits continue to be a Broken People but there is hope. It is therefore fitting that I should introduce you to the Dalits in this edition of “By the Streams” which focuses on brokenness and restoration.

  I have been to India twice in the past twelve months to become acquainted with the plight of the Dalits. Two villages, called Pipe Village and IDPL slum, illustrate their dire situation. The Pipe Village gets its name from a village that grew near a factory making large sewage concrete pipes on the outskirts of the large city of Hyderabad. As these pipes were discarded over a large surface area, there was space enough between them for squatters to occupy. Migrant workers from all over India flock to cities where they can find work. They are usually too poor to pay for accommodation, so they look for any area where they can set up tents and erect shelters. These pipes provided the perfect shield from the sun, the home away from home.

  IDPL has a similar story. A pharmaceutical company abandoned its large premises and the people came squatting. 3,000 families now live in this slum of make shift tents. Shops are erected, vendors of fruits and drinks start to line the streets and a community has come to life.

  It is a measure of the hardships of rural India that so many Dalits in recent years are migrating to cities for back-breaking, often unregulated jobs, and that those who remain in their villages consider sharecropping a step up from day labour.

  Who are the Dalits?

  Nearly 90 percent of all the poor Indians and 95 percent of all the illiterate Indians are Dalits. More than 250 million people in India are considered "Untouchable"—people tainted by their birth into a caste system that deems them impure and less than human. Millions of them are agricultural workers trapped in an inescapable cycle of extreme poverty, illiteracy and oppression.

  ‘Untouchables’ perform jobs that are traditionally considered "unclean" or exceedingly menial, and for very little pay. One million Dalits work as manual scavengers, cleaning latrines and sewers by hand and clearing away dead animals. I visited the town of Laksmipuram, 10 km outside Kurnool in Andhra Pradesh and witnessed first hand what these latrines look like. I shuddered.

  In 1950, the term ‘untouchable’ was eradicated under India's constitution, to be replaced by ‘Scheduled Castes’. Gandhi referred to ‘Untouchables’ as Harijan, which means "people of God". Politically active ‘untouchables’ feel that this term Harijan might evoke pity rather than respect, and came up with the name Dalit, which means, "oppressed".

  Dalits constitute most of the estimated 40 million people in India who are bonded workers. Bonded labour, which is illegal in India, is an arrangement whereby a person is forced to pay off a loan with direct labour in place of currency, over an agreed or obscure period of time. Most of these debts were incurred generations ago. These people, 15 million of whom are children, work under slave-like conditions hauling rocks and bricks, or working in fields or factories.

  The Caste System

  How did the Dalits end up where they are? It is all due to a uniquely Indian phenomenon called the Caste system. Caste was originally an arrangement for the distribution of functions in society, just as much as class was in Europe, but the principle on which this distribution was based was peculiar to India.

  The Hindu caste system follows one basic premise rooted in ancient and sacred Sanskrit Indian texts dating back some 3,500 years: All men are born unequal. According to these texts, four Varna groups emerged from various parts of the body of a primordial being. Interestingly, the word "varna" translates literally into the word "colour" in Sanskrit. Each group fulfills a function in society as follows:

  1. The Brahmins, emerged from the mouth. They preside over knowledge and education and are the priests and teachers who look after the intellectual and spiritual needs of the community.

  2. The Kshatriyas came from the arms. They are the warriors and their responsibility is to rule and to protect members of the community.

  3. The Vaishyas came from the thighs. They are merchants and traders and look after commerce and agriculture.

  4. The Shudras, came from the feet. Their task is to perform manual labour. They are peasants, labourers and artisans.

  Within the four castes, there are thousands of sub-castes, defined by profession, region, dialect, and other factors. Hindus believe a person is born into one of four castes listed above, based on karma and "purity” and on how (s)he lived their past lives. Every Indian, born into one of these Varna’s, is supposed to stay with that caste until death. What a person in each of these Varna’s can and can't do, is prescribed in detail in the laws of Manu, written by Brahman priests at least 2,000 years ago.

  To this day, most Indians still believe, and this includes a majority of the Dalits themselves, that Dalits are being punished by God for sins committed in a previous life. Under the religious codes of Hinduism, a Dalit's only hope is to be a good servant of the high castes and upon death and rebirth (s) he will be reincarnated in a high caste. Hinduism is the religion of 80% of India's population and its ancient system of social stratification still rules much of daily life. At the end of the day, the caste system is racially based oppression and as such is the equivalent of Apartheid in India.

  The Dalit Struggle

  Dalits fall into a fifth category outside the varna system. They are required to perform tasks that are considered so impure that they could not possibly be included in the traditional Varna system. In former times, elaborate rules were applied to avoid "cross-contamination." In northern India for example, Dalits had to use drums to let others know of their arrival. Even their shadows were considered polluted. In the south, some Brahmins ordered the Dalits to keep at least 20 metres away from them. If the shadow of a Dalit were to inadvertently fall on a DalitBrahmin, the Brahmin would have to go through an elaborate system of purification.

  To be a Dalit today means having to live in a subhuman, degraded, insecure fashion. In most parts of India, Dalits continue to be barred from entering Hindu temples or other holy places - although doing so is against the law. Their women are banned from wearing shoes in the presence of caste Hindus. Dalit children are ostracized in schools by being made to sit at the back of the classroom.

  Dalits are not allowed to drink from the same wells, attend the same temples or drink from the same cups in tea stalls. India's Dalits are relegated to the lowest jobs, and live in constant fear of being publicly humiliated, paraded naked, beaten, and raped with impunity by upper-caste Hindus seeking to keep them in their place.

  Trapped

  To you and me, all Indians look alike and we can be excused for being totally baffled at how such a system can exist and how one can tell one caste from the other. Unfortunately a Dalit cannot hide his caste. Family name, village of origin, body language and especially occupation give it away. The Dalit can try to disguise his caste identity, but there are too many ways to slip up. A Hindu will not feel confident developing a social relationship without knowing the background of the other person. Within a couple of months, one’s caste will be revealed. There is no escape.

  Caste discrimination has allowed, and still does allow, upper castes to maintain their control over cultural, social, political and material capital. But some Dalits are starting to fight their status as social and cultural outcasts. Small but growing groups of activists are working for the liberation of the Dalits. The reaction of authorities to their activism is often unforgiving and police brutality against the Dalit activists is commonplace.

  RESTORATION

  Woe to us! Who will deliver us from the hand of these mighty gods? (1 Samuel 4:8) is the cry of the Dalits today.

  There is a growing grassroots movement of activists, many of whom are women, trade unions, and other NGOs that are organizing to democratically and peacefully demand their rights, higher wages, and more equitable land distribution. There are very small steps in the restoration of the Dalits but they are a start.

  Much help was given by K. R. Narayana who was India’s first Dalit President of India from 1997-2002. On India's Republic Day in 2000, he quoted Ambedkar, India's true Dalit hero who fought for the destruction of the caste system in order to liberate the Dalits. Narayana said that until Untouchability and discrimination against women were eliminated, "the edifice of our democracy would be like a palace built on a dung heap."

  Urbanization also offers hope for the Dalits. Even if it means living in the slums, caste boundaries fade in the chaos of large Indian cities and offer a way out of the oppressing village prejudice that reduces a Dalit to a subhuman creature.

  However, breaking the barriers laid down by the Hindu caste system is an uphill struggle, especially when the government does little to uphold the law of the land that prohibits discrimination on account of descent.

  From our perspective, the most important restoration movement to come out in support of the Dalits has been the Dalit Freedom Network (DFN) started in 2002 by Christians within Operation Mobilization (OM) in India.

  Operation Mobilization as its name implies was formed to mobilise churches to share the knowledge of Jesus and His love with every generation in every nation. Teams of missionaries, mostly young men and women from these churches, were sent around the world preaching the gospel and bringing people to Christ. OM India was started in 1963; 6 years after George Verwer made his first foray in the US/Mexico. Our first short-term missions trip went with OM Canada to Mexico in December 1982.

  Dr. Joseph D’souza has been leader of that movement in India for the last 25 years or so. As you know, Dr. D’souza was our keynote speaker during Missions Conference 2010. When I asked him how the DFN started, he replied, echoing James 2:15-16, “How can we convert a Dalit and then leave him in his subhuman life?” George Verwer was very much aware of this dichotomy between evangelization and social work. He is reported as having said, “OM will never build schools” and OM never has. DFN has done it but all under the OM India’s watchful eye.

  OM India has morphed over this past decade to become a church planting movement that caters to the whole person, with a focus on the Dalits. The current structure puts church planting at the centre of its efforts. The churches planted are all under the umbrella of the “Good Shepherd Community Church”. Whereas in the past the team of mobilisers would channel their converts to existing evangelical churches, the focus now is on planting churches whenever there are enough converts and a pastor/missionary is available. The Mission Mobilisation efforts continue in earnest as at inception.

  The second petal to be added was “Education” and this was in response to the Dalit leaders coming to OM India and asking that their children be given affordable and yet quality education. These leaders realized that it would be virtually impossible to change their lives at such a late stage but their hope was in their children. The decision was therefore made some 12 years ago to start the first school, called Dalit Education Centre (DEC), where the education would be Christian and in English. That combination would give them a head start over all other children. When I was in India in July, I saw two new schools being built through the generous gifts of American and British donors. There are currently 104 of these DEC’s, all of them serving the Dalits mostly and teaching Grades 1 to 10 depending on the location and age of the school. The future impact of the schools will be felt in years to come.

  The 3rd petal is the Justice/Advocacy group which is active politically and lobbies the government for more equitable laws or the eradication of the discriminating ones. That work is being done in conjunction with other Christians through the All Indian Christian Council and through co-operation with other like-minded groups’ efforts. On my recent visit, the Anti Human Trafficking group was just starting and has a long way to go to match the efforts of other more established groups like the International Justice Mission. Still, OM India cannot be active in sharing the Gospel to the Dalits and not address the injustices that they are experiencing.

  The 4th petal is the Health Care division which provides for the physical well being of the Dalits in remote villages where access to medical help is neither easy nor available nor affordable. Mobile clinics and teams of visiting medical personnel are deployed on a regular basis but the logistics and high costs of such a venture can be limiting. There are opportunities for short-term teams to come and help in this area as in the area of education.

  I have kept the “Economic Development” (ED) petal last because it is the one that I will be involved with. As its name implies the idea behind this ministry is to help the Dalits achieve a level of economic sufficiency and sustainability. Right now, the majority of them are working in low paying, back breaking and demeaning jobs for about $5 per day for the men and $3 for the women. These jobs reinforce their unworthiness and low self-image. When the Dalits are in Christ, they are now a new creation; the old has gone and the new has come (2 Cor 5:17). The new encompasses both spiritual and social transformations. It is this holistic approach that attracted me first to the work in ED. I grew up poor and I can easily identify with the Dalits. I know what it is like to be poor. To those who think that we should only preach the gospel and not care about the social needs, I would invite you to come and visit with me the Dalit slum villages. Try to live like them for a week and the need for physical restoration will become very apparent and is as urgent as its spiritual counterpart. The two cannot be separated. They are the wings of a bird or the blades of a pair of scissors.

  I have visited many of the Dalits who have benefitted from ED’s work and I have seen the pride and the dignity that decent wages can bring. I have witnessed the changes that occur when men and women live up to the full potential that God intended them to be. During my trip in India, that one phrase from Genesis 1:27 haunted me: “So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.” That’s the goal. It is to make the Dalits reflect the image of their Creator. There is no greater goal. God has already determined that He wants the Dalits to be like Him. We are to be God’s fellow workers. We will just need to come alongside them and help them accomplish that goal which God has already set for them.

  That work is however, a difficult and arduous one. How does one teach people who have for centuries been told that they are worthless and good for nothing, that they can now build something significant for themselves? Only God can do that work. The transformation has to start from the heart. God has to touch the Dalits individually and as a people, depositing in them the spark that is necessary to get the fire of change roaring. Otherwise, we labour in vain.

  The ED work started in 2007 and much has been accomplished by the Grace of God. There are more than 19,000 people whose lives are being impacted by the efforts of the 50-members staff of ED. The work is still in its infancy. Much remains to be done and that is why I am going over to help them. My Macedonian call did not come in a vision but God sent several people to steer me and guide towards that work and when I got there, I knew that this was what God had prepared for me.

  I witnessed the vocational training that purports to equip both men and women with new skills. I saw how the Self-help groups (SHG), which as their name implies, are self-organized groups of men and women, helping each other to better their lives through mutual support, saving money in a common pot and sharing their needs and excesses.

  What however, bowled me over were the benefits of microfinance. By giving to the Dalits a small loan ranging from $100 to $500, those who are entrepreneurial can start a small business or can purchase an animal (goat, water buffalo, cow, etc.) that can bring them extra income. Since they do not have any collateral, banks would not lend them any money. However, ED will but only in the context and support of the church and the SHG’s. Repayment rate are in the 90+%. Had the Dalits gone to the loan sharks, they would have paid exorbitant amounts in interest payments.

  This is a good example of little becoming much in the hands of the Dalits. They are empowered to do much more than they would have been able to do on their own.

  When the work among the Dalits was started, the schools were started all over India in a random fashion based on the call of the leaders. With 100 DEC’s now established, it is clear now that some synergy could be obtained by having them grouped and being closer to one another. These clusters, as they are called, would facilitate the circulation of the teachers within a region; maximize the use of resources available; be more attractive to teachers and other workers who would find fellowship and support more readily; reduce travel costs for supervisors and teams; etc. Each cluster would consist of several churches, schools, training and vocational centres. Everything will be done more efficiently. However, there is a lot of co-ordination involved in making all these clusters work efficiently.

  India has more than 1 billion people and is predicted to surpass China in 2030 and become the most populous country in the world. With one quarter of its population living below poverty level, India has a lot to catch up and clean up. The plight of the Dalits has only highlighted the needs of this nation to the Christian community. We have always known that India is a poor country but the task is so massive and overwhelming that everyone just gives up thinking about solutions. It is better not to think about an insurmountable problem. It is too difficult and may be too painful to continue staring. We look askance.

  What DFN and OM India offer is a practical solution to an ugly eye sore. We can dare to look at it in the face and with the cross of Jesus before us, we can march on to battle.

字号:


印度达利人:从破碎到重建

◆ 邱仁德 长老

  50年前,同为达利人(Dalit)出身的Ambedkar博士指出,印度达利人是一个破碎的民族。这一点,到现在还没有改变。只是,我们看到了希望。所以,我非常高兴在这一期的溪水旁介绍达利人阶层,因为本期的主题就是破碎与重建。

  过去的一年中,我两次到印度。达利人的苦境从两个我到访过的村落中可以略见一斑。第一个村落是位于拥有六百四十万人口的大城市Hyderabad郊区的管道村。该村因为依靠着一个生产下水道用的水泥管厂而得名。很多废弃的大水泥管被丢在工厂四周,管道之间的空间足够流民们居住。印度各地的民工都涌向城市打工为生,他们的薪水常常不足以支付房费,所以他们在任何一个能够搭帐篷的地方居住。管道为他们提供了很好的遮阳之处,成了他们离家之后的家。

  另一个村落,IDPL贫民窟,原本是一个被废弃的制药厂。现在有超过3000个家庭蜗居在这个由帐篷搭建成的贫民窟里。现在,这里的商店以及卖水果、饮料的小摊开始沿街出现,一个社区俨然开始形成。

  很多的印度达利人近年来移民到城市做那些繁重又常常没有规范的强体力劳动,这是对印度乡下极为贫困生活的一个反应。而留在乡下的佃农则认为农耕比每日打工要好一些。

  谁是达利人

  在印度,有90%的穷人和95%的文盲是达利人。有超过两亿五千万的人口在印度是被认为“不可触摸的人”,因为这些人的出身,在等级系统中被认为是不洁净的,甚至不配做人的人。他们中有上百万的人是农民,世世代代逃不出被欺压、贫困、文盲的恶性循环。

  “不可触摸的人”从事着传统上被认为是不洁净的工作或是及其繁重的体力劳动,收入却极其微薄。有一百万的达利人从事下水道和便池的清洁工作。我曾到过一个叫Laksmipuram的镇,亲眼目睹了所谓的便池,令我大为震惊。

  1950年,印度宪法废除了“不可触摸的人”这个名词,并以“被规划的等级(Scheduled Cast)”来代替。圣雄甘地称达利人是Harijan,即“属神的人”。“不可触摸的人”中的政治活跃分子认为Harijan这个词激起的可能是同情而不是尊重,所以用Dalit替代,意为被欺压的。

  印度有四千万非法的抵债劳工,其中大多数是达利人。抵债劳工(其中有一千五百万是儿童)被迫用期限不确定的劳力而非金钱来还债,许多债务是几代人积累下来的。他们像奴隶一样搬石头和砖头,或在田地、工厂做苦力。

  印度的等级制度

  为什么达利人这样受欺压?这起源于印度独特的社会现象——等级制度。与欧洲的阶层制度一样,等级制度起源于对社会功能的分配,但在印度却有非常独特的分配原则。

  印度等级制度的起源可以追溯到3500年前古老而神圣的印度梵文(Sanskrit):人生来就不平等。根据梵文,四个瓦尔那(Varna)阶层来自原人身体的不同部分。有意思的是,瓦尔那翻译过来就是颜色或品质的意思。四个阶层的社会分工如下:

  1. 婆罗门(Brahmins)是原人的嘴。他们主管知识和教育,职业为祭司或教师,复杂社会之精神和思想的需要。

  2. 刹帝利(Kshatriyas)是原人的双臂。他们是武士,负责统治和保护社会大众。

  3. 吠舍(Vaishyas)是原人的大腿。他们是商贩和生意人,管理社会的商业和农业。

  4. 首陀罗(Shudras)是原人的脚。他们从事体力劳动,是农民、劳工和艺人。

  在四个等级的内部,还有数千个依据职业、地区、方言和其他因素划分的小等级。印度教认为人出生的时候,根据业(Karma),即今生前世的因果报应,被划分在这四个等级中。一个印度人出生于其中的一个等级就属于这个等级一直到死。每一个瓦尔那等级的人可以或是不可以做的事情在两千年前婆罗门祭司所写下的法律里有严格的规定。

  直到今天,很多印度人包括达利人本身都认为达利人是因为他们前世所犯下的罪而遭受神的惩罚。依据印度教的宗教规则,达利人的唯一出路是为高等级的人做好仆人。这样,在他死后涅磐再生时可能出生在高等级阶层。在印度,80%的人是印度教徒。印度教这个古老的等级划分制度至今还主宰着人民生活。简而言之,等级制度就是种族歧视制度,如同昔日在南非的种族隔离制度一样。

  达利人的挣扎

  达利人是四个瓦尔那阶层之外的第五个等级。那些规定给他们的工作被认为是不洁净的,所以他们不可能被纳入传统的瓦尔那阶层之内。甚至,曾经还有详细的规定保证其他等级的人不会被达利人所“污染”。比如,在印度北方,达利人出门要敲鼓告诉别人他们要来了。连达利人的影子也被认为是“不洁净”的。在南方,婆罗门要求达利人与他们至少保持20米的距离。如果达利人的影子不小心落在一个婆罗门的身上,那个婆罗门要经过繁琐的洁净过程。

  在今天,达利人意味着过一种低于人类的、被歧视的、没有安全感的生活。在很多地方,达利人仍然被拒绝在印度神庙或其他神圣场所之外,虽然这是非法的。达利人的妇女在其他等级制度人面前不得穿鞋。孩子们在学校里也受排斥,被安排在教室最后面。

  达利人不能与其他等级人从同一口井里喝水,参加同一个寺庙,在茶摊上用同一种杯子喝茶。他们被安排做最底下的工作,常年生活在恐惧之中,怕被那些冲动的上等阶层人羞辱、游街、强奸。那些人是想让达利人永远躲在自己的角落里,不得翻身。

  对你我来说,所有的印度人看起来都一样,我们不明白为什么会存在这样的等级制度,也不能区分谁属于什么等级。不幸的是达利人无法隐藏他的出身。他的姓氏、籍贯、身体语言,尤其是职业都显示了这一点。即使达利人试图隐瞒他的身份,也很容易露馅。印度人在不知道对方背景时是不会轻易与其建立任何社会关系的。只要几个月,一个人所属的等级就会被人知道,毫无例外。

  等级制度曾经并且至今依然让高等级的人能够控制社会、政治、文化及财富各个方面。但是少数达利人却开始为争取社会和文化权益而努力奋战。这样的积极分子人数虽然少,但在逐渐递增。不过,政府对他们的态度非常不友善,警察也常常粗暴地对待他们。

    重建

  “我们有祸了!谁能救我们脱离这些大能之神的手呢?”(撒母耳记上4:8上)这是今日达利人的呐喊。

  由一般民众所发起的争取达利人权利的运动有增长的趋势。其中,许多是妇女、商贸工会和其它非政府机构的成员,他们倡导以民主、和平的方式争取达利人的权利、较高的薪水和更公平的土地分配方式。这些是在重建达利人的过程中非常小的几步,却是一个开端。

  K. R. Narayana是印度第一任达利人总统(1997至2002)。他为重建达利人提供了很多的帮助。在2000年的印度共和日,他引用了Ambedkar博士(一位真正的印度达利人英雄,为了破除等级制度、解放达利人而一直在斗争)的话。Narayana说,在针对妇女的不可接触和歧视等现象消灭之前,“我们民主的大厦就好象一座宫殿建筑在粪堆上。”

  城市化也给达利人带来了希望,即使这意味着他们要生活在城市的贫民窟里。无论如何,等级制度的界线在印度大都市的喧哗中渐渐淡化,并且提供了一条摆脱乡村那种压制达利人、使之活在非人状况里的出路。

  然而,打破这种由印度等级制度设下的障碍是一场艰苦的斗争,尤其是政府也毫无支持建立禁止等级歧视之土地法的迹象。

  从我们的角度来看,站出来支持达利人的最重要的重建运动是由“达利人自由网络(DFN)”发起的,该组织是由印度动员差会的基督徒在2002年成立的。

  动员差会,顾名思义,是为了动员各教会向每个国家每一代人分享基督的真理和祂的爱。来自这些教会,主要由年轻男女组成的宣教团队被差往世界各地传福音,把人领到基督面前。印度动员差会于1963年成立,即在George Verwer(动员差会奠基人)第一次涉足美国/墨西哥六年之后。我们随同加拿大动员差会前往墨西哥进行的第一次短宣是在1982年12月。

  在过去的25年左右,Joseph D’souza博士一直是重建达利人运动的领袖,他也是华人福音堂2010年差传年会的主要讲员。当我问他“达利人自由网络”是怎样开始的,他的回答正好与雅各书2: 15-16产生共鸣:“我们怎么能眼看着一名达利人信耶稣后仍然过着非人的生活呢?”

  印度动员差会在过去10年里已演变成为一个提供全人关怀、重点面向达利人的植堂运动。目前的架构是把植堂作为工作的重心(见图)。所有新植的堂会都隶属于“好牧人社区教会”。过去,动员差会的成员会把新信主的人带到现有的福音派教会去;而现在的重点是植堂,无论何时,只要有足够的信徒和一名牧师或宣教士即可植堂。其认真努力推动宣教的精神,一如既往(第一个花瓣)。

  要添上去的第二个花瓣是“教育”(见图),这是回应那些达利领袖们。他们要求印度动员差会为他们的孩子提供负担得起但又高质量的教育。这些领袖们意识到,要改变他们的人生已经太迟了,而且基本上是不太可能了;但他们的孩子仍有希望。因此,在大约12年前,就已作出决定成立第一所学校,称为“达利人教育中心(DEC)”。该中心采用基督教教育并用英语授课。这样的结合将会让这些孩子比其他同龄人领先一步。当我7月份在印度参观时,看到两所依靠美国和英国资助者慷慨捐助的新学校正在建造中。目前,有104个达利人教育中心,所有的中心主要面向达利人,根据学校所在的地区和校龄的不同,教导1-10年级的学生。这些教育中心对未来所产生的影响力,人们正拭目以待。

  第三个花瓣是“伸张正义”团队,活跃于政坛、游说政府推行更公平的法律或根除带有歧视的犯规。该工作是通过“全印度基督徒议会”连同其他基督徒,并与有相同想法的组织共同努力而实现的。最近我访问印度了解到“反人口贩卖”团队刚刚起步,若要与其它已很成熟的组织如“世界正义使团”等的努力相匹配,该团队还有很长的路要走。印度动员差会在向达利人传福音方面仍不能算是积极有效的,并且也不能解决达利人正面临的不公正待遇等问题。

  第四个花瓣是“健康保障部门”,为居住在遥远乡村的达利人提供医疗服务。那些地方看病求医,要么很难,要么负担不起,要么根本没有医疗设施。移动诊所和随访的医务人员会经常被派往那些地区,但后勤供给和医疗队的高费用会限制这样的服务。就象在教育领域一样,短宣队有机会来帮助这方面的工作。

  经济发展

  我把“经济发展”的花瓣放到最后论述是因为这是我将要参与的部分。显而易见,这事工背后的想法是希望帮助达利人达到一定程度的经济自足和可持续性。目前,大多数的达利人从事低报酬、纯体力和卑微的工作,男人大约一天挣5元,妇女挣3元。这些工作强化了他们没有价值和偏低的自我形象。当达利人在基督里,他们就是新造的人了;旧事已过,都变成新的了。(参哥林多后书5:17)新的生命既包括灵里的转变又包括社会性的转变。正是这全方位转变的观念首先吸引我想参与经济发展方面的工作。我出生贫寒,因此很容易和达利人有认同感。我能体会他们的困苦。对于那些认为我们只需传福音给他们而不用关心他们的社会需求的人们,我想邀请你来和我一起去参观达利人居住的贫民窟。试着象他们一样生活一星期,你就会体会到达利人需要身体重建的强烈渴求,这和属灵的方面一样紧迫。这两方面,象鸟的一双翅膀或剪刀的两片刀刃,是不可分开的。

  我访问过许多得益于“经济发展部门”的达利人,可以看出满意的薪水给他们带来的自豪和尊严感。我已目睹了当男人和妇女活出神所赋予的潜力时所带来的变化。在印度旅行期间,创世记1:27一直萦绕在我的脑海里:“神就照着自己的形象造人,乃是照着他的形象造男造女。”这就是要达到的目的。让达利人反映出他们造物主的形象,没有比这更大的目的了。神早已定意要让达利人活得象祂。作为神同工的我们,所需做的仅仅是与他们肩并肩,帮助达利人完成神早已为他们设定的目标。

  然而,这项工作是困难和艰巨的。一个人如何教导那些几个世纪以来一直被告知是没有价值、没有用处的人们,他们现在能够为自己成就某些举足轻重的事了呢?只有神能做到这一点。改变必须从内心开始,神必须个别地触摸达利人。作为整个阶层的人,还要把改变之火熊熊燃烧所必需的火种放在他们里面。否则的话,我们是白费力气。

  经济发展部的工作始于2007年,靠着神的恩典,该部门已成就了许多事。经济发展部50名成员的努力正影响着超过19000人的生活。但工作仍处于起始阶段,要做的事还很多,这就是为什么我想到那边去帮助他们的原因。我的马其顿呼声并非来自一个异象,而是神派了几个人来引导我,让我看见那里的工作。当我到达那儿时,我知道这就是神所为我预备的工场。

  我目睹了让男人和妇女学到新技能的职业培训。也看到自助团体(自发形成的组织)的运作,他们通过相互支持、在同一个户头存钱并分担需要和过剩,从而相互帮助使生活过得好一点。

  然而,使我吃惊的是微型经济所带给人们的好处。通过给予达利人介于100到500元少量的贷款,那些有企业家头脑的人就能开始一项小型的生意或购买一头牲畜(山羊、水牛、奶牛等),这就会给他们带来额外的收入。因为达利人没有任何东西可以抵押,银行是不会借给他们钱的。但经济发展部可以借给他们钱,只要他们有教会和自助团体的背景及其支持。还清贷款的比例在90%以上。假如达利人向高利贷借钱,他们则要偿还高额的利息金额。

  这是一个在达利人手中积少成多的好例子,使他们有能力去成就更多的事情。

  聚集成“簇”

  当达利人事工刚开始的时候,学校(即达利人教育中心)是基于领袖们的呼召在全印度随机开办的。随着100个达利人教育中心的设立,人们很清楚地看到协同效应的存在。即通过把这些教育中心纳入不同的组,并使组内的中心紧密协作,协同效应就彰显出来了。这些组或“簇”,就像他们这样称呼一样,将有助于同一地区内教师的流动、最大化利用现有的资源,对教师和其他同工也更有吸引力(因为他们会很容易找到团契和所需的支持)以及减少督导和团队的车旅费,等等。每一个“簇”将包括几所教会、学校、培训和职业中心。这样,每一项事工将会更有效地开展。为使这些“簇”能发挥其功能,有许多协调工作要做。

  印度有超过10亿的人口,预测在2030年总人口将超过中国,成为世界上人口最多的国家。但有四分之一的人口生活在贫困线以下,印度在许多方面亟需追赶和整顿。达利人的困境只是向基督教社群凸显了这个国家众多的需要之一。我们都知道印度是一个贫穷的国家,但改变贫穷的任务是如此的巨大和沉重,以至于人们放弃了思考解决问题的办法。最好不要去想一个不能克服的难题,这太困难了或许太痛苦了以至于我们裹足不前,我们的目光从此转向别处了。

  然而,达利人自由网络和印度动员差会所提供的则是针对这“丑陋的眼疾”一个实际可行的解决办法。这使我们敢于直面这样的丑陋。不但如此,因有耶稣基督的十字架在我们前面引导,我们能阔步迈向战场。

  (邱长老在多伦多英文堂聚会。原文以英文撰写,由编辑同工编译。英文原文刊登于本刊网站。如需参考文献,请联系作者。)